Friday, June 23, 2017 |
It has been a great destiny: Prayaga MartinVijay becomes Thalapathy!'Duvvada Jagannadham' has only two action scenes: Harish ShankarNandamuri Balakrishna to romance NayantharaRana Daggubati chuffed about his TV debutSridevi says she would be happier to see Jhanvi get married than act; clarifies laterConfirmed! Television actress Mouni Roy to debut in Akshay Kumar’s GoldFinally! Saif Ali Khan’s Kaalakaandi has a release date nowNorth Korea tests rocket engine, possibly for ICBM: US officialsDelhi man cuts off daughter's ear, claims 'ghosts told him to do so'

Admiral’s Cup regatta opens at Ezhimala

Posted December 7th, 2016, 11:14 AM IST

Admiral’s Cup regatta opens at Ezhimala

KANNUR: Admiral’s Cup Sailing Regatta-2016 began with an opening ceremony at the picturesque Ettikulum Bay at Indian Naval Academy (INA), Ezhimala on Tuesday. INA Commandant Vice Admiral S.V Bhokare inaugurated the competition in which 23 foreign countries participate along with two Indian teams – INA Ezhimala and NDA, Khadakvasla. Indonesia will participate in the sailing competition as an observer whereas Philippines backed out at the last moment.

Out of the 54 participants competing, 10 are women. Each team with two boats will take part in 16 races over four days starting from Wednesday. INA has also invited eminent yachtsmen from all over India, in addition to local schools, colleges and NCC cadets to witness the event. On the side lines of the Admiral’s Cup, a kid’s zone, beach volleyball facility, merchandising shop and refreshment counters have also been opened for spectators.

The ‘Admiral’s Cup’ and the Runners-Up Cup will be awarded to the top two teams in the championship on the basis of their combined performance of both boats. In addition, individual medals will also be awarded in the men’s and women’s category. The Admiral’s Cup Regatta 2015 was won by the US Naval Academy team. This year’s regatta is expected to be more exciting and keenly fought with the highest ever number of countries participating in the event.