Sunday, July 12, 2020 |
Col. Santosh Babu's 4 yr old performs last rites amid tearful adieu to slain soldierWhat is the mental cost of being an outsider in Bollywood?Mamata likely to attend all-party meeting on Ladakh standoff tomorrowHey, you're cordially invited to my wedding video!Swara steps in for SammyCCMB develops low-cost testing method for COVID-19Sushant’s swansongBJP government in Manipur in minority after 9 MLAs quit ahead of Rajya Sabha pollsDr Reddy's acquires select business divisions of WockhardtDhoni’s latest buy, a tractor!

Andhra results LIVE: YSRCP's Jagan set to rule state, swearing-in on May 30?

Posted May 23rd, 2019, 11:25 AM IST

Andhra results LIVE: YSRCP's Jagan set to rule state, swearing-in on May 30?

Mumbai: People of Andhra Pradesh in their first full-fledged election have chosen Jaganmohan Reddy's YSR Congress.

YSR Congress is leading in 141 seats, TDP in 26 and Janasena Party in 3.

Confident of a victory from initial trends, the YSR Congress camp is reportedly in talks of finalising dates for Jaganmohan Reddy’s swearing-in as the new Andhra Pradesh chief minister.

According to sources, the party meeting would take place on May 25, while Jagan’s swearing-in is likely to happen on May 30.

As per the trends available from the Election Commission, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu is trailing in Kuppam Assembly segment.

The Telugu Desam Party supremo was trailing by 67 votes against YSR Congress' Krishna Chandra Mouli when the first round of counting was taken up.

The counting began at 8 am to decide the fate of parties in this first-ever, full-fledged Andhra Pradesh elections after its bifurcation into Telangana in 2014.

As far as Assembly polls are concerned, at least two exit polls have predicted that TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu might get another term as Chief Minister, while one has predicted a huge win for YSR Congress.

Read: Who will win the 17th Lok Sabha? Verdict today

As predicted by the India Today Axis exit poll, YSR Congress gets 130-135 seats and TDP 37-40 seats.

The exit poll also predicted 1-3 seats for the Jana Sena Party (JSP) while others are expected to win a maximum of two seats.

Meanwhile, a poll of exit polls conducted by local news channels predicted YSR Congress to win 106 seats out of 175 Assembly seats and predicted 65 seats for the TDP.

The poll of polls is a collective prediction of Lagadapati Exit Polls, People's Pulse Exit Polls, and Mission Chanakya.

Both People's Pulse and Mission Chanakya have given an upper hand to Jagan Reddy with 112 and 91-105 seats respectively.

These polls were also the first since Naidu broke the alliance with BJP-led NDA over the delay in granting special status to Andhra.

In the 2014 election, the TDP led by N Chandrababu Naidu emerged with a majority with 103 seats.

Of the 175 seats, 88 were required to prove majority.

The voting for 175 Assembly and 25 parliamentary seats was held in a single phase on April 11.

The voter turnout recorded was 79.88 per cent which was 1.92 per cent higher than the 2014 Assembly elections.

The highest turnout of 85.93 per cent was recorded in Prakasam while Visakhapatnam recorded the lowest turnout of 73.67 per cent.

The state elections were held simultaneously with the 2019 Lok Sabha election.

The key parties contested in the polls are Jana Sena Party (JSP) in alliance with Communist Party of India (CPI), Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI-M), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the reigning Telugu Desam Party (TDP), YSR Congress (YSRC) as the opponents.

The prime narrative in the Andhra Pradesh Assembly Election 2019 has, however, been around the special category status for the state as Chandrababu Naidu targeted Prime Minister Narendra Modi for reneging on the commitment.

Read: Tamil Nadu results LIVE: Will Stalin become the next CM?

Also Read: 2019 Odisha Assembly Election results LIVE: BJD on course of majority?

Also Read: Sikkim Results Live: Will Sikkim see a change or it's going to be SDF again?

Keep yourself updated on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 with our round-the-clock coverage -- breaking news, updates, analyses et all. Happy reading.