Tuesday, October 17, 2017 |
Obesity increases irregular heartbeat in men, new study findsFIFA U-17 World Cup: Here's what Timothy Weah said about India after USA winPremier League: Liverpool's Dejan Lovren blasts Manchester United star Romelu LukakuDanayya to produce Boyapati-Cherry’s filmSuresh Babu’s reception for Naga Chaitanya and SamanthaNot game for sports yetFace-detection CCTV cameras technology helps nab suspectTwo die in Warangal after fire breaks out at Rohini super speciality hospitalTelangana: Counsellors must for corporate colleges, schoolsAPTDC woos people with discounts, offers

IPL 2017: Sanju Samson helps Delhi Daredevils whack Rising Pune Supergiant

Posted April 12th, 2017, 12:44 PM IST

IPL 2017: Sanju Samson helps Delhi Daredevils whack Rising Pune Supergiant

Pune: Sanju Samson propelled Delhi Daredevils to a 97-run win over Rising Pune Supergiant with the season’s first century in the Indian Premier League on Tuesday. Sent into bat, Delhi rode on Samson’s 63-ball 102 to notch up 205 for four at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium. In reply, Pune were all out for 108 in 16.1 overs.

Samson struck eight boundaries and five sixes, while Chris Morris blazed his way to 38 off just nine balls. Delhi skipper Zaheer Khan picked up 3/20, while leg- spinner Amit Mishra had 3/11. Delhi Daredevils, thus, recorded their first win in this edition of the T20 league, while RPS won one and lost two in three outings so far. This was Samson’s maiden hundred in the cash-rich tournament.

Earlier, Samson got to his maiden IPL century with a straight six off Adam Zampa in the innings’ penultimate over. Chris Morris blazed his way to 38 off a mere nine balls, helping Delhi amass 45 runs runs in the last two overs of the innings. During his 63-ball knock, Samson struck eight boundaries and five sixes, while Morris found the fence four times and cleared it thrice during his cameo.

Pune lost Aditya Tare early, but Samson took the Pune attack by the scruff of its neck, and was soon dealing in boundaries. Samson was severe on Deepak Chahar, playing the bowler through the point region for two back-to-back boundaries, which got Daredevils off the blocks after an economical first over. In the next over, Samson launched into Ashok Dinda for three boundaries, his off-side play standing out at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, as Delhi went along fluently. Introduced into the attack after the first timeout, Imran Tahir provided Pune their second breakthrough when he cleaned up Sam Billings with a slider that went through the big gap between the bat and body.

Billings’ dismissal paved the way for Rishabh Pant, who showed steely resolve in Daredevils’ first match, having joined the team soon after performing the last rites of his father. Pant, once again, got into the act quickly, sending Rajat Bhatia's dibbly-dobblers, first straight over the sight-screen followed by one over the long-on for maximums. Looking good to add some more runs to his name, Pant was run out when Mayank Agarwal’s brilliant direct throw from the point region hit the stumps at the non-striker’s end, leaving the batsman well short of the crease. Meanwhile, Samson reached his half century off 41 balls, hitting six boundaries.


Delhi Daredevils: A. Tare c Dhoni b Chahar 0, S. Billings b Imran Tahir 24, S. Samson b Zampa 102, R. Pant run out (Agarwal) 31, C. Anderson (not out) 2, C. Morris (not out) 38. Extras (lb3, w5) 8. Total (for four wickets in 20 overs) 205.

FoW: 1-2, 2-71, 3-124, 4-166. Bowling: Dinda 3-0-36-0, Chahar 3-0-35-1, Stokes 4-0-41-0, Tahir 4-0-24-1, Zampa 4-0-45-1, Bhatia 2-0-21-0.

Rising Pune Supergiant: A. Rahane c Samson b Khan 10, M. Agarwal c Morris b Khan 20, F. du Plessis c Pant b Nadeem 8, R. Tripathi c Nadeem b Morris 10, B. Stokes c Pant b Morris 2, M.S. Dhoni c Nair b Mishra 11, R. Bhatia c Morris b Mishra 16, D. Chahar c Pant b Khan 14, A. Zampa c Samson b Mishra 5, A. Dinda c Mishra b Cummins 7, Imran Tahir not out 0.
Extras (lb-1, w-4) 5. Total (10 wickets; 16.1 overs) 108.

FoW: 24-1, 34-2, 49-3, 52-4, 54-5, 79-6, 94-7, 100-8, 107-9, 108-10.

Bowling: S. Nadeem 4-0-23-1, P. Cummins 3.1-0-24-2, Z. Khan 3-0-20-3, C. Morris 2-0-19-1, C. Anderson 1-0-10-0, A. Mishra 3-0-11-3