Tuesday, December 10, 2019 |
I could have won that round easily: Ishant Sharma'Virat'ian innings by captain Kohli as India beat West Indies by 6 wicketsAyaan not shy like me, says Emraan HashmiDMK stands vindicated in top court, says MK StalinCashing in on Amma?Nagarjuna to Rakul Preet, celebs on encounter of all 4 accused of Hyd vet rape-murderHyderabad: Virat Kohli throws his weight behind under-fire Rishabh PantFocus on rural problems: KT Rama RaoMixed signals over George Reddy’s successTanmay Agarwal named hyd captain in Ranji Trophy

Srinivasan’s daughter set to become TNCA chief

Posted September 23rd, 2019, 10:29 AM IST

Srinivasan’s daughter set to become TNCA chief

The Tamil Nadu Cricket Association has set September 26 for the coronation of Rupa Gurunath as the new president of the state unit. The last date for submitting nomination is September 25, but all 16 office-bearers are set to be elected unopposed. Rupa who is set to become the first woman president of the state unit is the daughter of former TNCA, BCCI and ICC chief, N. Srinivasan.

P. Damodaren, a nemesis of Srinivasan, has conceded that there won’t be any opposition from his side. Damodaren owns three league clubs affiliated to TNCA. “From what I know, Rupa is an efficient woman, so I have decided to support her candidature,” said Damodaren.

In an executive committee meeting held on Sunday, the members informally zeroed in on names for the various posts. Salem’s RS Ramaswamy, Eagle Club’s KA Shankar, J. Parthasarathy and N. Venkataraman are set to be part of Rupa’s team.

Rupa’s entry was not a surprise as her name has been doing the rounds ever since Srinivasan stepped down from the post in 2017 following the Lodha Committee recommendations. Rupa’s husband Guruanth Meiyappan, the tainted former team principal of the Chennai Super Kings has been banned for life by the BCCI, for his involvement in betting during the 2013 IPL.

Election officer
Meanwhile, the TNCA has appointed D. Chandrasekaran, former state election commissioner, as the returning officer.

202 voters
The total number of voters is 202 of which 150 of them are city-based league clubs. As many as 30 districts and 22 former international cricketers (including women) are eligible to vote.