Sunday, July 12, 2020 |
Col. Santosh Babu's 4 yr old performs last rites amid tearful adieu to slain soldierWhat is the mental cost of being an outsider in Bollywood?Mamata likely to attend all-party meeting on Ladakh standoff tomorrowHey, you're cordially invited to my wedding video!Swara steps in for SammyCCMB develops low-cost testing method for COVID-19Sushant’s swansongBJP government in Manipur in minority after 9 MLAs quit ahead of Rajya Sabha pollsDr Reddy's acquires select business divisions of WockhardtDhoni’s latest buy, a tractor!

BCCI Women’s Under-23: Andhra women are champions

Posted February 13th, 2020, 10:22 AM IST

BCCI Women’s Under-23: Andhra women are champions

Andhra lost to Jharkhand by 21 runs in their last league match but emerged on top of the group to win the BCCI Women’s Under-23 One-Day title in Mulapadu near Vijayawada on Wednesday.

Having won seven of their eight matches, Andhra topped the Elite-A Pool with 28 points. Jharkhand, having lost two matches, finished runner-up with 26 points.

The two teams, along with Himachal Pradesh, Delhi and Kerala qualified for the knockout stage of the tournament to be held in Mumbai from February 19.

Andhra Cricket Association secretary V. Durga Prasad was understandably excited. “All the women teams (in different age groups) at Andhra are faring quite well in all formats of the game. They deserve all the praise. Everyone at the ACA wishes them the best in the future tournaments,” he said.

In the last league match played at Deveneni Venkata Ramana Pranitha Ground on Wednesday, Jharkhand were all out for 141 in 47.4 overs as G. Sindhuja (4/28), E. Padmaja (3/21) and G. Saranya (3/25) bowled well. However, Andhra could not measure up to the task and managed only 120/9 in the stipulated 50 overs.

Brief scores
At Chukkapalli Pitchaiah Ground, Mulapadu: Odisha 141/8 in 50 overs (Susmita 28, Anjali 39, Lakshmi 3/27, Anitha 2/8) bt Hyderabad 123 in 43.1 overs (Anitha 40, Louisa 3/25, Taranna 2/10, Indrani 2/25).

At Deveneni Venkata Ramana Pranitha Ground, Mulapadu: Jharkhand 141 in 47.4 overs (Rashmi 37, Indrani 23, G. Sindhuja 4/28, E. Padmaja 3/21, G. Saranya 3/25) bt Andhra 120/9 in 50 overs (Shanthi 2/30, Durga 2/22, Arti 2/17)

At ACA Stadium, Mangalagiri: Bengal 172 in 50 overs (Dhara 21, Mamata 44, Tithi 53, Nirupama 3/29, Ritu 2/27) bt Railways 169 in 49.1 overs (Laxmi 26, Ritu 25, Kshama 29, Dipa 51, Papori 25, Shreya 5/23, Dhara 2/29).